An introduction…

Posted on 14/07/2010

2


First of all–Welcome to my blog!

Now, down to business. This blog will mainly be used to write about my experiences as I serve as a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar at the University of Leeds in Leeds, England.

Some of you may be asking, “What is a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar?” Well, let me tell you. The Ambassadorial Scholar program began in 1947 and is one of Rotary’s oldest programs. It is one of the largest privately funded scholarships in the world and helps hundreds of students to study each year. As explained on http://www.rotary.org:

“The purpose of the Ambassadorial Scholarships program is to further international understanding and friendly relations among people of different countries and geographical areas. The program sponsors academic year scholarships for undergraduate and graduate students as well as for qualified professionals pursuing vocational studies. While abroad, scholars serve as goodwill ambassadors to the host country and give presentations about their homelands to Rotary clubs and other groups. Upon returning home, scholars share with Rotarians and others the experiences that led to a greater understanding of their host country.”

While one of my objectives in England will be to pursue (and obtain) my M.A. in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) Studies, another objective will be to be an ambassador for everything that Rotary International embodies. I will do that not only through presentations with local Rotary clubs in the Leeds/West Yorkshire area, but also through my daily interactions with those around me. I’ve already investigated some possible volunteer sites as well, such as the Refugee Council (http://www.refugeecouncil.org.uk/), and am very enthused about get involved in my Leeds community during my time there.

I am so excited to be embarking on this incredible journey. I am going to try to be diligent in updating this blog so if you are ready for an adventure then jump on board!

Posted in: In the USA