Giving Thanks on Thanksgiving…

Posted on 26/11/2010

0


Some of you may not think much of Thanksgiving, but for me it’s one of the most special days of the year. All of my memories of Thanksgiving are filled with the smells of my mom’ sweet potato casserole, the sights of brightly colored leaves changing color, the action of family sports, and the feeling of love and gratefulness.

As a kid I sometimes celebrated Thanksgiving 2-3 times; we would go to my great Aunt Glynda’s house for lunch, my great-grandmother’s (memaw Jones’) in the afternoon, and my other great-grandmothers’ (nanny mac’s) in the evening. You can imagine that after eating 3 Thanksgiving meals I was stuffed.

But, more than the food, it’s the quality time I get to spend with my family that makes Thanksgiving such a great day. I love getting to see family I don’t see too often and also getting to spend time with the family I see everyday. It’s a day of giving thanks for just that—family and the time we have to share together. At my Aunt Glynda’s for the past few years we have written in a book a list of things we are thankful for. Since I cannot be there this year with them, I am going to write a list of what I am thankful for on here so they can read it….

-I am thankful for an amazing family (and extended family) that has always lent me there unconditional love and support over the years.

-I am thankful for my wonderful, but sometimes crazy, pets (Tommy, Daisy, Penny, and Pepper).

-I am thankful for my friends, both old friends at home and new friends here in the UK as well as my friends scattered across the globe.

-I am thankful for the freedoms I am able to take advantage of everyday both here in the UK and at home in the USA.

-I am thankful for being financially okay in the midst of a worldwide recession.

-I am thankful to Rotary International for giving me the opportunity to further my education in another country–for giving me the chance to immerse myself in another culture.

Overall, I am VERY thankful.

On a lighter note—our Thanksgiving dinner was fantastic. There were 4 Americans and about 10 international students. Everyone brought a different dish and it was lovely. We had turkey and dressing (apple and thyme–delish!), green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole (mom’s recipe), macaroni and cheese (mom’s recipe, again), pecan pie (w/o karo syrup), Japanese pancakes, Thai curry, German potato salad, English sweet brought by our sweet Spanish friends, Greek salad and sauce, as well as a Greek dessert! It was all totally scrumptious. So glad I got to celebrate Thanksgiving with special people. I definitely missed my family, but having the great company of friends made things much better🙂

Posted in: In the UK