Being an aunt & Colombian food

Posted on 23/04/2012

3


I can’t believe that at any moment now I will be an aunt!!! My sister is officially nearing her due date and her doctor has told her to be ready at any moment to head to the hospital. While I am so happy to be an aunt, I am also oh so very sad not to be able to share in this incredibly special moment with my sister and my family. My heart is both happy and sad. I know little Cason Michael will get lots of loving in his first months of life, but I can’t wait to give him some loving of my own when I get home in July (sidenote: I will officially be home from June 30-July 15 & can’t wait!).

(my sister Holly and her fiancé Zach)

And, not only will I be meeting my little nephew Cason for the first time in July, but I will also be attending and participating in my sister’s wedding! So much to take in in such little time. I am so proud of my little sister and am so thankful she is blessing me with the gift of being an aunt.

I absolutely cannot wait for some quality time with my family and close friends. It’s going to be great, but I am sure it will not be nearly enough time. I will likely leave Alabama with a heavy heart and ganas de regresar rápido (“desires to return soon”).

Other than updating you all on my trip home and the upcoming delivery of my baby nephew, I thought I would introduce you all to some of my favorite Colombian dishes–prepare yourself for some mouthwatering…

First up is bandeja paisa. Bandeja paisa is one of my all-time favorites here in Colombia. It basically consists of: amazingly large and delicious beans, white rice, fried egg, sweet plantain slice, avocado slice, fried pork skin, chicharrón (Colombian version of sausage), ground beef (almost fluffy in consistency), and morcilla (blood sausage). I normally omit the chicharrón and morcilla. Bandeja paisa is a typical dish of the coffee zone (eje cafetero) in Colombia, and can sometimes be hard to find here on the coast.

Bandeja Paisa

Second we have fried red snapper with coconut rice and fried green plantains. This is SUPER traditional meal here on the coast and one of my favorites. It’s absolutely delicious.

golden/yellow snapper w/ white rice and green plantains

You cannot live in Colombia and not like (or at least tolerate coffee). I first thought, when I lived in Bogotá in 2008, that I was going to be able to avoid drinking coffee–buddy, was I wrong. And not only was I practically forced to drink coffee, but I actually came to love it. I don’t drink all coffee, but I LOVE drinking what’s called a tinto campesino. This is basically coffee made with agua de panela (“brown sugar water”) & it is most commonly found in the interior of Colombia. We make it here in our apartment on a daily basis :0)

tinto campesino from Juan Valdez

Something else I love eating in Colombia are the exotic fruits here. I just can’t get enough of them. Some of my favorites are: granadilla (a member of the passion fruit family), mamoncillos (sort of like acidic grapes with a tougher skin you have to break with your teeth–it has a big seed surrounded by a fleshy fruit; some say it’s more effort than it’s worth to eat it), and pitalla (the yellow Colombian version of dragon fruit; it’s much sweeter than the Asian version of the purple dragon fruit).

granadillas

mamoncillos

pitalla (image from: jmgkids.us)

The last food I am going to tell you about is something called mazamorra. It may sound weird as I describe it, but it is 100% delicious. Mazamorra is a corn based “soup.” You start by taking white corn kernals and letting them cook in the pressure cooker. Once it’s done, you serve a portion (preferably on the hot side) in a bowl and add a portion of milk (to your liking–some people like a lot and some people like less–I’m in the middle). Then, you can either eat it one of two ways…. You can either put pieces of panela (“raw brown sugar”) in your mazamorra, OR you can eat bites of panela as you eat your mazamorra. I prefer the second method. This is a dish specific to the coffee zone and interior of the country. We made some just last week and it was delicious–I finished the left overs today😉

homemade mazamorra

There are so many other foods I could tell you about that I love to eat here in Colombia, but I am afraid my list would be never-ending. So, I’ll leave you with the few I’ve mentioned above…

Until next time… (which will likely be a post about my newly born nephew :))

Posted in: Alabama, Colombia