The Salt Cathedral of Zipaquira

Posted on 25/04/2013

0


Uncover Colombia | Travel Blog

In Bogota? Looking for an exciting day trip? How would you like to visit a church built underground? Until 2008, when I took a day trip with some friends to the small city of Zipaquira, I had never even heard of a cathedral being constructed underground, much less within a salt mine. Boy, was I glad I decided to join my friends on their day trip to Zipaquira!

A small town outside of Bogota, Zipaquira is located within the department of Cundinamarca, and the Salt Cathedral is its most visited attraction. The Salt Cathedral, though, is not only the primary tourist site in Zipaquira, it is also ranked as one of the most visited tourist and religious sites in all of Colombia. Serving as a functioning church on Sundays to thousands of Catholics, the cathedral also receives an incredible amount of tourists Monday thru Saturday who…

View original post 546 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized