My Favorite Colombian Drinks

Posted on 11/12/2013

0


mazamoora

Uncover Colombia | Travel Blog

Having lived in and traveled to many different cities and regions of Colombia has given me the chance to sample a good portion of the most traditional Colombian drinks. In this post, I am going to highlight a few of my favorite Colombian drinks.

Mazamorra

Although many Colombians would classify mazamorra as something other than a drink, paisas (Colombians from Antioquia and the Coffee Zone) are very adamant that it is a drink. So, what is it exactly and why do I like it? Mazamorra is a traditional cold drink from Antioquia and the Coffee Zone that is made with white or yellow corn kernels that have been crushed with a mortar and pestle, soaked in water and then cooked until soft. Once cooked, the corn mixture is served with milk and panela (unrefined cane sugar) in bits or pulverized. Normally, the “eater” will add milk and panela to…

View original post 514 more words